Okay, this is a quick one. As a result of my increased afforts to ‘go green’ I’ve become aware of many amazing raw and vegan recipes. Sounds a bit hippy dippy, right? Well, perhaps in some ways it is but I can assure you I’m not away with the faeries nor am I going to renounce my meat eating ways. My husband and I have always been concerned about where our food comes from and what’s in it but recently we’ve taken it to the next level. Being conscious consumers is important now more than ever and whilst I’m not one to lecture I want to spread the word in some little way – so this blog seems like the perfect platform to do my bit.

Let’s not get into the ins and the outs of being an ethical, eco-friendly human being right now. I’d much rather talk about food (afterall, this is PeaSoup Eats!) and let you into a rather well kept secret – raw food can be tasty:) I’d always been dubious ever since a friend who’d been staying with us brought back a raw dessert that was vile beyond words; it was not a good introduction. Since then I’ve tasted a few more raw dishes that have surprised my palate and encouraged me to look further into this somewhat sidelined contemporary cuisine.

Take it from me this oatmeal will require you to view food from a slightly different angle but if my Husband can eat it, like it and want more then I am positive it could be a breakfast hit! It’s real soul food that will satisfy a 100 percent more than your usual toast or cereal. It nourishes from within, will set you up for a greener day and leave you positively Zen. Namaste.

Ingredients:

3 tbsp flaxseed meal

water, soy, rice or almond milk

1 banana

2 tbsp chopped raw pecans

maple syrup

Prepare the flaxseed meal the night before. In two separate bowls divide the flaxseed meal – 1 1/2 tbsp flaxseed meal in each. Cover with water or soy milk or whatever you’ve chosen to use. Give it a little stir and set in fridge overnight.

In a blender – I own one of those little ‘uns that have all the different attachments – empty contents of soaked flaxseed meal. You might need to give it a little stir beforehand and it’ll probably have a sticky consistency. Put half the banana into the blender along with a small amount (tsp) of maple syrup – it really depends how sweet you want it but the flaxseed meal and banana are pretty sweet anyway. Blend until completely smooth. If it is very thick you can add a small amount of water/soy milk but be careful, a little goes a long way and you don’t want this runny.

Repeat the process with the other half of the ingredients. You could do it in one batch obviously but I find it easier doing it this way. Chop a handful of raw pecans and divide between the bowls. My husband likes a little more maple syrup on top but I prefer to have it without. You could use honey too although I’ve discovered true raw foodists don’t use any concentrated sweeteners but hey, seeing as we’re just testing the waters here I think we can bend the rules a wee bit!